Cooking Lessons at Home

Tracy's cooking class w/ 8 men

My cooking class always starts with knife how-to’s. Tools make the man! (my photo)

I think I enjoy my private cooking lessons most of all the services I offer. I believe my clients do, too!

They’re fun, useful and an excellent value. Plus, you & guests get to eat afterwards.

I’ve taught a men’s group (at left), teens, families with kids, a dad & grand-dad duo, and women in an independent housing facility. Mostly I teach groups of friends who have a glass of wine in one hand and a chef’s knife in the other. (I do make them put one down.)

I even taught guests at a bridal shower! We made fancy vegan appetizers. I thought that was a terrific, creative bridal shower activity.

My standard lesson is 3 hours long, for up to 4 people, for $160.00. (More if you want meat.) That is $40/person for hands-on, one-on-one instruction. You’ll learn about grains & legumes, super-foods and vinaigrettes; practice knife skills and learn bulk cooking tips. Importantly, we cook in your own home, which allows me to evaluate your space & equipment.

 

Here are some great comments from participants (see more Testimonials) :

I’ve been using the methods Tracy taught us during the cooking class. I never knew you could economize ingredients and use them for so many different dishes. Tracy gave each of us a chef’s knife and taught us how to use different knives for different cutting and dicing techniques.Tracy taught us about new ingredients I’ve never tried or heard about, and since her class I’ve been purchasing and cooking with some of these new ingredients.  It’s delicious and it’s healthy!! [Lee]

Tracy’s class was extremely informational. She offered a range of advice that was extremely helpful including health-related information and recommended kitchen tools. It was fun! I’ve been using and experimenting with the recipes to make up my own salads and slaws and it’s really yummy! With each bite you get so many different flavors. [Tammy]

Kamut & Veg Salad. Substitute any whole grain you’d like! Barley, wheat berries, spelt, oat groats (contain gluten); or gluten-free grains such as quinoa and brown/red rice. (Photo by Brad Dahlgaard.)

This week I did a lesson with three sisters, including one who rarely cooks and two good home cooks. I had catered a family reunion dinner for them last summer and they wanted to learn those dishes. So, we made Roast Pulled Pork in Soy Molasses Sauce; Easy Cabbage & Kale Slaw in Lime Cilantro Vinaigrette; Roast Beet & Lentil Salad in Balsamic Vinaigrette; and Curried Barley & Veg Salad.

What a nice dinner! Full of flavor and textures, with options for vegans and gluten-avoiders.

Very healthful too, you may note, with all the legumes, whole grains and very high vegetable ratio. The Beet Lentil Salad included an entire bunch of celery. Besides green cabbage, the Slaw used the beet greens, Red Russian kale and lots of fresh cilantro, while the Barley Salad got yellow & green zucchini, cukes and radishes.

And, the meal was very inexpensive, particularly for the amount of food we made — enough to feed 8, with left-over salad.  Most of the vegetables came from the farmers market. The lentils and barley were a few dollars, and the condiments are ones most everybody has in their pantries. The most expensive ingredient, a cut of pork shoulder, was $14.00 (Kowalski’s).

The three salads will keep for a week — although the sisters were betting it would all be gone in 2-3 days. The pork freezes.

 

Leave a Reply

