Jump Off the [Carb] Cliff

We have met the enemy. And it is us. Whether that’s the reality-TV spectacle of Congress playing chicken on the “cliff” of another financial crisis, or our modern interpretation of “Holiday” which means indulgently surrounding ourselves with cheap carbs & sugar for an entire 6 weeks instead of say, an indulgent 3 days — it is still, and always, Us. Sigh.

MC Escher's lithograph "House of Stairs" (from Wikipedia.com)

MC Escher’s lithograph “House of Stairs” (from Wikipedia.com)

And so January rolls around, somehow always a little sooner than expected, like recycling day. Apparently the fiscal cliff will come around again in a couple months as well. It’s like we live inside an Escher print.

Coulda, woulda, shoulda. We could have averted this course. We could have sliced up our credit cards. We could have not based a fat silo of the financial banking industry on easy paper profits as well as not creating actual, punitive deterrents. I could have graciously refused that box of lovely home-made Xmas cookies, or better yet, divvied it up and given it away. I could have walked away from the sale aisle and not ended up with bags of cheap and cheaply made stocking stuffer doo-dads, which I rationalized since they were ‘gifts’.

[Yes, I am confounding these rather different things, because I personally experience them similarly, as a form of psycho-emotional (spending/ buying/ eating) and physical (sugar & carbs) addiction.]

But wait! We still can!  Let’s just jump off the cliff of addictive consumption and start over. The Carbohydrate Cliff, the Consumption Cliff, the Fiscal Cliff, you pick. 

Jumping not your thing? Use scaffolds, which works better for some. (I like scaffolds. They are a good way to reach the ground without hurting oneself as much.)

Portabello, Lentils & Spinach. GF, DF, no grain, good carbs.

Portabello, Lentils & Spinach. GF, DF, no grain, good carbs. Dish of the Week for Jan 28th.

Focusing on the Carbohydrate Cliff, this means reducing and avoiding processed carbs & refined sugars. As my coaching/catering/ delivery clients know, I’ve been touting the path of Low & Good Carbs since I started this venture and have wholly based my menus on whole unprocessed grains, beans and veggies. Hence, I never offer any kind of pasta. And, as I meet more people interested in the Paleo diet and learn about it myself, I will be including more non-grain options.

Now to the plug. “How shall I start, Tracy?”, you are asking. Well, you can make things easier on yourself and start ordering Delivered Dish of the Week!  Healthful, slow-food vegan dishes at your doorstep!  Order online at this website.

You can also sign up for one of my hands-on, super-fun Cooking Classes. I’m teaching a Soup class on Jan 10th at Harvest Moon Co-op, classes at Valley Natural Foods in Feb & March, and, I’ll be launching classes at GIA Kitchen (dates TBA). You’ll get practice, recipes and tips galore, plus food to take home. See “Nourishing Soups” post for the link to register.

Like One Dish at A Time on Facebook!

Like One Dish at A Time on Facebook!

In the meantime, I invite you to subscribe to this blog and follow my “One Dish” Facebook postings for a steady flow of inspiration and tips.

Best wishes for 2013!

Leave a Reply

